The Georgian was built in a time in when the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign was enduring a substantial enrollment increase. The purpose of The Georgian was to create a place where students could live close to campus, but not under campus…

BUILDING HISTORY The Chemistry Annex was built because the University needed more space for the Chemistry students, and only having Noyes Laboratory was no longer sufficient. The building is connected to Davenport Hall and has a underground tunnel…

BUILDING HISTORY The Illini Union was originally started from the rent of the first floor of the YMCA. The expansion plan was started when the University bought the building in 1938. It was built in 1939 and dedicated by First Lady Eleanor…

BUILDING HISTORY The President’s House was the result of a decree in 1928 by the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois. This called for a “suitable President’s House...adequate for the probable needs and duties of the President of…