This park has a pond and a walking path that connects with Helms park to the south.
The Stone Arch Bridge, which spans Second Street Basin between Helms and Lo Park, was placed on the National Registry of Historic Places in 1981 (2). Completed around 1860, the now seven and a half foot wide bridge was originally eighteen feet wide. It is constructed of hand cut random stripped Silurian dolomite (2). The Stone Arch Bridge originally gave farms in Urbana a rail connection to trains in West Urbana, now known as Champaign, to ship their produce. Judge Cunningham wrote in 1863 that "this railroad...was worth more than it cost to Urbana; and was, without doubt, the means of staying and finally defeating the agitation for the removal of the county seat" (2). The bridge segment of the railroad was abandoned and rerouted in 1890, and thus it is likely that this is the only bridge to have spanned Boneyard Creek at this location. The Stone Arch Bridge is suspected to be unique in Champaign County, and is one of the oldest remaining structures in the area (2).
Second Street Detention Basin, which stretches across both Helms and Lo Park and is part of the Boneyard Creek watershed, is home to plenty of diverse wildlife including turtles, fish, geese, ducks, and herons (3).