Park "Art" Theater

The Park "Art" Theater, built in the Classical Revival style, was constructed in 1913.

Designed in 1913 by Chicago architect Lewis E. Russell, the Art stands as Downtown’s longest continuing theater. The owner of the building was B.F. Cooper who choose many of the details based on this tours of leading playhouses in Chicago. Local contractor Freeman and Brooks constructed the building.

The theater was originally named the Park Theater until 1958 as seen in the photograph below. Today it has been renamed the Art and has continued to bring art and independent films along with a few blockbusters to the heart of Downtown.

Images

The Art Theater

The Art Theater

View: Facing northeast on Church Street. | Source: Sam Logan Photography | Creator: Sam Logan Photography View File Details Page

PACA Historic Property Inventory for the Art Theater Building at 126-128 West Church Street, Champaign

PACA Historic Property Inventory for the Art Theater Building at 126-128 West Church Street, Champaign

Source: Champaign County Historical Archives at The Urbana Free Library, Urbana, Illinois | Creator: Name of owner(s) (as of survey date): William Leach View File Details Page

Art Theater

Art Theater

Entrance from the south west, February 1971 | Source: TJ Blakeman View File Details Page

Art Theater at night

Art Theater at night

Source: TJ Blakeman View File Details Page

The Park Theater in 1914

The Park Theater in 1914

Source: Champaign County Historical Museum View File Details Page

The Park Theater, February 5th 1936

The Park Theater, February 5th 1936

Source: The Sholem Family View File Details Page

The Park Theater in the Winter

The Park Theater in the Winter

Source: Dr. William Youngerman View File Details Page

Street Address:

126 West Church Street [map]

Cite this Page:

T.J. Blakeman, “Park "Art" Theater,” ExploreCU, accessed May 23, 2017, http://explorecu.org/items/show/371.

Subjects

comments powered by Disqus

Share this Story