In 1850 the First Presbyterian Church Organized in a wood frame structure built at Hill and State, unbeknownst to congregation, they would become the longest organized church in Champaign. Shortly after they began to outgrow their building, the small wood frame structure was moved nearby and the present church built in 1869 for $35,000 by 137 parishioners. Between 1881 and 1900 the towers were completed and a bell placed atop the northern tower. This bell still chimes every Sunday morning to mark the start of services.
The church features a few unique features including the “upper room” sanctuary which places the large sanctuary not on the ground level but on the second floor of the structure.